Ukrainian Potato Pancakes (Deruny, Деруни)

Potatoes are my favorite vegetable of all time. I like mashed potatoes, french fries, baked potatoes…let’s just say that I haven’t met a potato I didn’t like. Here is a classic Ukrainian potato pancake recipe that my mom and grandmother make, that I absolutely adore. Serve these with a dollop of sour cream, apple sauce, or even smoked salmon .

potatopancakes

Ingredients

  • 5 large Russet or baking potatoes (about 1.5 lb)
  • 1 Onion
  • 1 Egg
  • 3 tbsp of All purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp of Sour cream
  • 1 tsp of Salt and pepper to taste
  • Vegetable oil (or any light olive oil)

Directions

Peel potatoes and onions. Using a hand grater or a food processor, grate the potatoes and onions together.

Add flour, egg, sour cream and mix well. Add 1 teaspoon of salt and black pepper. The batter should be wet and resemble a pancake mixture.

Preheat the skillet on medium heat, add a few teaspoons of oil to the pan. Add 1 large tablespoon of mixture at a time to the skillet fry on one side until golden brown, then flip to other side and fry for the same amount of time. Repeat the same steps for the rest of the batter.

Serve with sour cream, apple sauce, or even smoked salmon.

 

6 thoughts on “Ukrainian Potato Pancakes (Deruny, Деруни)

  1. My in-laws are Ukrainian and my husband LOVES potato pancakes. We tried to make them recently (or made them with trouble…) and they really fell apart. I think that they were too large– any theories? My recipe is similar- minus the sour cream. Yours look tasty!

Leave a comment