Catching Up and the Latest in Food News

Coffee and Cookie Beneath Large Cork Noteboard

It has been months since I’ve posted, I know you missed me, and I apologize for disappearing for so long…life got in the way. There is so much going on right now that some days I honestly don’t know if I am coming or going. But the feeling of accomplishing what seemed like a mountain climb months ago, feels like the weight of the world has been lifted off my shoulder – for now that is. They say it’s all about the journey and not the destination…but I would have to disagree…sometimes you cannot wait for the “journey” part to be over in order to get to that destination. But I guess we shall wait and see.

In other news, I was catching up on my daily dose of “what’s happening around the world” on CNN and saw another article about the “Dirty Dozen”. If you don’t know what that is, I will explain. Each year the Environmental Working Group publishes a list of dozen fruits and vegetables ranking highest in pesticide residue, which ultimately affects our health as we continue to consume them. I cannot stress the importance of buying these fruits and vegetables that were grown organically instead of conventionally. If you can afford to buy organic produce, please do! By the way, apples hold the #1 spot for being the most pesticide-contaminated produce – FOUR YEARS IN A ROW! Take a look at this pictograph: http://www.cnn.com/2014/05/02/health/gallery/dirty-dozen-2014/index.html?hpt=hp_c3 

And to think of it, most of the Europe have banned the use of these pesticides on produce. What’s keeping America from doing the same thing?

Ok, enough of that. Hopefully everyone is having a wonderful Spring. I just wish I could close my eyes and make the month of May disappear from the calendar, because I have so much to do, it makes my head spin just thinking about it. But unfortunately, I can’t make it go away, so I shall prepare for the grueling weeks ahead. Oh and if I don’t post again until then, Happy Mother’s Day to all of the wonderful moms out there! I hope that one day in not too distant future to celebrate this day too 🙂 For now, I am a mom to a four-legged creature, and that’s cool too!

Leave a comment