Broccoli and Cauliflower Pasta Bake (Casserole)

Happy Holidays everyone! Today has been the very first day that I have been able to take a breather and relax from work and school. Life has been hectic in the last six months and there has been a whirlwind of activities. Extremely busy at work, I am now teaching full-time and with over 120 students to deal with, my days are filled with grading papers, grading tests, tutoring students, and staff meetings. Phew, this has been a busy, busy Summer/Fall for me. But because of the holidays, I am able to take a few days to relax since it’s the winter break.

Anyway, all these months I haven’t cooked many new recipes. The one that I did make a few months ago has now become a staple in our house. My hubby likes this dish and I like it because it’s meat free. We are what I call “flexitarian-ish” – we try to eat meat free at least once a week. So there is this pasta bake aka casserole that I really like. If you love broccoli and cauliflower, you will love this recipe. I have never liked either of the veggies, but in this dish I enjoy.

PastaBake

Ingredients

1 Broccoli, cut into florets
1 Cauliflower, cut into florets
1 lb Whole-wheat elbow macaroni or penne or other short cut pasta
2 cups Sour cream or plain yogurt
1 Tbspoon Dijon mustard
1/3 cup Chives, finely chopped
2 cloves Garlic, peeled and grated
Salt and black pepper, to taste
2 1/2 cups Extra-sharp Cheddar, grated or shredded

Directions

Bring a large pot of water to a boil over high heat. Salt the water and add the broccoli and cauliflower florets. Boil the vegetables for 5 minutes, drain in a colander. Add the pasta to the water and undercook by about 2 minutes, drain.

Meanwhile, combine the sour cream (or yogurt) in a large bowl along with the mustard, chives, garlic, salt and pepper, to taste. Add the pasta, vegetables, and and 2/3 of the cheese. Stir to combine, then transfer it to a casserole or baking dish and cover with the remaining cheese.

Place the casserole on baking sheet (to catch any drippings if it bubbles over) and bake it in a preheated 375 (F) degree oven until deeply golden and bubbly, about 40 to 45 minutes.

Leave a comment